Book Review || The Room By The Lake

34818163

Title: The Room By The Lake

Author: Emma Dibdin

Publication Date: August 2017

Version: Physical Book

Genre: Suspense, Thriller

Rating: 3.5/5 Stars

When Caitlin moved from London to New York, she thought she had left her problems behind: her alcoholic father, her dead mother, the pressure to succeed. But now, down to her last dollar in a foreign city, she is desperately lonely.

Then she meets Jake. Handsome, smart, slightly damaged Jake. He lives off-grid, in a lakeside commune whose members practise regular exercise and frequent group therapy. Before long, Caitlin has settled into her idyllic new home.

It looks like she has found the fresh start she longed for. But, as the commune tightens its grip on her freedom and her sanity, Caitlin realizes too late that she might become lost forever…


I don’t know if I’ve had really high expectations with thrillers recently, but I have to say, the last couple of thriller/mystery/suspense novels I’ve read I thought I would love a lot more.  That’s not to say they’ve been necessarily bad, but just that I thought I’d be giving out a ton of 4/5 star reviews this month, which leads me to The Room By The Lake.

This was definitely not a bad book.  3.5 stars means I liked it pretty well, but did have some issues with it.  The plot intrigued me from the get go and I think the book was cleverly written and paced.  It starts out as a bit slower with the plot as we meet and learn about our main character, Caitlin, and her new boyfriend, Jake.  However, as the book progresses, the suspense builds as well as a sense of foreboding and dread that are present throughout the entire story.

The atmosphere is perfectly creepy and the reader just knows something bad is going to happen and that Jake’s “family” may not be as perfect as they seem.  While there aren’t a lot of typical “twists” in the story, the writing kept me on my toes the whole time and even during the slower parts, the underlying tension made the story move along.

There are parts of this story that maybe aren’t the most believable and there are parts where I questioned the characters’ choices in certain situations, but I do think that Dibdin did a good job of creating situations that are realistic as I saw how Caitlin got wrapped up in life at the commune.

I don’t think this book will be for all thriller/suspense lovers, but if the plot sounds interesting to you and you don’t mind slower paced thrillers, then definitely check this book out.

 

One thought on “Book Review || The Room By The Lake

  1. Pingback: October Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

