Book Review || The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A F*ck

28257707.jpg

Title: The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A F*ck: A Counterintuitive Approach To Living A Good Life

Author: Mark Manson

Publication Date: September 2016

Version: Physical Book

Genre: Nonfiction, Self-Help

Rating: 3/5 Stars

In this generation-defining self-help guide, a superstar blogger cuts through the crap to show us how to stop trying to be “positive” all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people.

There are only so many things we can give a f**k about so we need to figure out which ones really matter, Manson makes clear. While money is nice, caring about what you do with your life is better, because true wealth is about experience. A much-needed grab-you-by-the-shoulders-and-look-you-in-the-eye moment of real-talk, filled with entertaining stories and profane, ruthless humor, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F**k is a refreshing slap for a generation to help them lead contented, grounded lives.

I usually don’t like self-help books.  I find that a lot of times, they are repetitive, can be condescending, and many times aren’t backed by enough research to support the “facts” given.  While I am glad I read this book and appreciated some unique key points, I had similar faults with The Subtle Art.

I’ll start with what I liked about the book.  I really appreciated that this book does not put forth the positivity outlook.  While I think this can be helpful for many people, it has never worked with me.  “Think your way into happiness” is something I have found in several different self-help books I’ve read and I just don’t think it’s feasible for everyone 100% of the time.  It’s important to understand that it’s okay to not be okay and that we have to work through the hard stuff in life and I appreciate that this book put forth that message.

I also enjoyed that this book read like a book and not a diagnostic manual.  While there is a place for clinical writing, I appreciate the balance books like this one bring to the table.

One of the biggest faults I have with this book is that whenever a self-help books brings up mental illness, I am very hesitant mainly because there isn’t always a lot of research to back up the ideas presented or because the author doesn’t have a background in mental health.  This book discusses OCD in particular and while the author uses a few case examples to back his ideas, it’s not a very strong argument in the context.  If, like me, you have a mental illness, reading any self-help book with a critical eye may be a good idea.

I also felt like the last half of the book had a tendency to veer off topic and sometimes it felt more like the author’s memoir more than a book about The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A F*ck.

I don’t think this book will be for everyone (obvious explicit language and mature content), but if traditional self-help books aren’t your thing and you’re looking for something on the lighter and humorous side, this book may just be for you.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review || The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A F*ck

  1. Pingback: August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

